You may not want other people to know that you’ve been searching for information or advise from websites such as The Elm Foundation.

 

When you browse the internet on a mobile phone, tablet or computer, you leave a ‘history’ trail of pages and websites you’ve visited. 

 

It’s nearly impossible to completely avoid being tracked online, but if you’re worried about someone knowing which sites you’ve been looking at, there are some things you can do to help cover your tracks.

 

While you’re browsing our website – ‘Leave to Google’ & ‘Leave to Facebook’ buttons

 

Whilst you are browsing our website, you may need to quickly leave the website and go to another, to hide the fact you are viewing our website.  On our website at the top every page, there are ‘Leave to Google’ & ‘Leave to Facebook’ buttons which will quickly take you away from our website and to either Google or Facebook.

 

If you’re using a laptop or desktop computer, it might be best to have another document or website open in a new tab or window while browsing. If someone comes in the room and you don’t want them to see what you’re looking at, you can quickly switch to another window or tab.

Cover Your Tracks Online

What is browser history?

Your browser history is a list of all the website pages you visit while searching the internet. As you go from one website to another, your virtual footprints will be saved on your computer/mobile device with information including the date and timestamp of each page load. Each internet browsers has a different way of providing you access to this data so that you can view your internet history or delete it.

 

If other users have access to that computer or mobile device, your privacy may be invaded and if you are experiencing domestic abuse, your abuser may be able to discover your online activities.

History.png

Delete your browsing history

 

You can delete the history of websites you’ve visited, but it’s important to know that if you delete your browsing history, someone else using the same device may notice.

 

If you share a tablet, mobile phone, laptop or computer with someone, they might notice that passwords or website addresses have disappeared from their history. 

 

Warning about deleting cookies and address histories

 

It's important to state that there is a risk involved in removing data from your computer. For instance, if your partner uses online banking and has a saved password, then if you clear the cookies on your PC, your partner will realise you've done so, because their password will no longer be saved. Also, your partner may notice if the address history on the PC has been cleared, and this may raise suspicion.

 

Find out how to delete your browsing history from the most commonly used browsers:

 

 

Find out how to delete your browsing history from the most commonly used browsers on smart phones:

 

 

In order to avoid creating cookies and histories, you can use private browsing modes on most browsers.

Private browsing (incognito)

When you’re browsing ‘incognito’, the internet browser won’t store cookies or record your browsing history on the computer, mobile or tablet.

 

This option is available on the most commonly used web browsers: 

 

incog.png

Toolbars

If you use a search toolbar in your web browser, remember that your searched items can be saved as part of your history. Find out how to delete your searched items from the following search engines:

 

toolbar.png

Twitter

Twitter has certain rules and policies that it expects everyone who uses it to abide by. The rules include not abusing people on Twitter. When someone breaks the rules they can be sanctioned. We know that perpetrators use Twitter to abuse their partners or ex-partners, monitor their movements and also carry out certain behaviours such as revenge pornography. This is unacceptable and against Twitter’s rules and policies.

Twitter.png

Twitter has certain rules and policies that it expects everyone who uses it to abide by. The rules include not abusing people on Twitter. When someone breaks the rules they can be sanctioned. We know that perpetrators use Twitter to abuse their partners or ex-partners, monitor their movements and also carry out certain behaviours such as revenge pornography. This is unacceptable and against Twitter’s rules and policies.

 

Below are some of the main ways of keeping safe on Twitter. There are other tools and resources that can be used and these can be found on Twitter’s Safety Centre.

 

Stop other people seeing your tweets

 

You can ‘protect your tweets’ so only people who you approve can see what you are tweeting. Here’s how to protect your tweets

Disable your location

 

If your tweets have a location added it may be easier for the perpetrator or their friends and family to find you. To check your location settings and to turn it off here’s how:

  1. In the Tweet compose box on twitter.com, click the button with your location.

  2. Select Turn off location from the dropdown menu.

  3. The Turn off location setting will be saved, so next time you compose a Tweet on twitter.com your location information will not appear.

 

Block Someone who is being abusive

 

If you are being abused or harassed by someone online you can block them from being able to see your profile or getting any of their tweets. NOTE if you block someone they will know that you have blocked them. Here’s how to block someone

 

Report abuse

 

You can report someone for being abusive, threatening you or harassing you on Twitter. You can report them using this form

 

Use your report as evidence 

 

if you have reported someone for being abusive you can also download and email your report to use as evidence for the police or other agencies. Here’s how to use your report as evidence.

Facebook

Facebook has certain rules that it expects everyone who uses it to abide by. Rules include not abusing people on Facebook. When someone breaks the rules they can be sanctioned. We know that perpetrators use Facebook to abuse their partners or ex-partners, monitor their movements and also carry out certain behaviours such as revenge pornography. This is unacceptable and against Facebook’s rules.

Facebook.png

You can learn about all the privacy basics of Facebook here: Take the Facebook privacy basics:

 

Below are some of the main ways of keeping safe on Facebook. There are other tools that can be used as well and these can be found on Facebook’s Safety Centre:

  • Unfriend someone

  • Block someone who is being abusive or harassing you

  • Report someone who is being abusive or harassing you

 

Learn more about how you can use the above Facebook tools

 

More useful links

What to do someone is threatening to share things you want to keep private

What to do if someone is pretending to be you on Facebook

 

You can take the Facebook security check-up to add additional security to your account. Learn more 

 

You can also download your Facebook data into a PDF and use it however you want. This could be for the police as proof of online abuse or for other evidential requirements.

To download your data from your Facebook page:

  1. Click at the top right of any Facebook page and select Settings

  2. Click Download a copy of your Facebook data below your General Account Settings

  3. Click Start My Archive

 

For more information, Women’s Aid and Facebook create Safety guide, which you can read here.

 

Email

If an abuser sends you threatening or harassing email messages, they may be printed and saved as evidence of this abuse. Any email you have previously sent will be stored in Sent Items. If you started an email but didn’t finish it, it might be in your Drafts folder. If you reply to any email, the original message will probably be in the body of the message – print and delete the email if you don’t want anyone to see your original message.

 

When you delete an item in any email program (Outlook Express, Outlook, etc.) it does not really delete the item – it moves the item to a folder called Deleted Items. You have to delete the items in deleted items separately. Right click on items within the Deleted Items folder to delete individual items.

email.png

Forums

If you use Women’s Aid’s Survivor’s Forum, don’t forget to log out of your account when you have finished your browsing session so no one else can log in as you. If you use any other forums, remember to logout of those sessions once you have finished.

Signout.png

General Security

If you do not use a password to log on to your computer, someone else will be able to access your email and track your internet usage.

 

All of the above information may not completely hide your tracks. Many browser types have features that display recently visited sites. The safest way to find information on the internet, would be at a local library, a friend’s house, or at work.

safe.png